School is closed except for key worker and vulnerable children until further notice. Please follow government guidance and we look forward to seeing you all soon.
Home Page

About the Curriculum



At St Helen’s Catholic Infant School we aim to provide a curriculum which ensures that all children are given equal opportunities to develop the full range of learning skills. We value the contributions made by all children, professionals and parents to help to enhance and maintain our inclusive school community.

‘Pupils make outstanding progress in their learning, and greatly enjoy all aspects of school, because work is matched very closely to their needs and interests.’ OFSTED 2011

We provide a broad, balanced and stimulating curriculum for every child regardless of race, gender or ability.

Organisation of Education and Teaching methods

Religious Education - As a Catholic school, Religious Education is taught in accordance with the Doctrine and Traditions of the Catholic Faith and through the national programme called 'Come and See' which is also the will of the Diocese of Brentwood. All children take part in Religious Education lessons and acts of worship arranged by the school.

Priests from the parishes take part in school assemblies and special celebrations. Children attend mass on Holy Days of Obligation.

Parents have the legal right to withdraw their children from all or part of the Religious Education and collective worship provided.

A variety of teaching methods are used in all 3 year groups (whole class, group, individual, setting) in order to maximise the learning for each child. Progress is monitored continuously and tasks planned accordingly.

We teach the National Curriculum which includes English, Maths, Science, Computing, Art, Design and Technology, History, Geography, Music and Physical Education. Whilst not statutory we also teach Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

In the Foundation Stage (formerly Reception), learning is planned with reference to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)document and a document called Development Matters. The curriculum is split into 7 areas of learning and development that shape the teaching and learning for our youngest pupils and all 7 areas are important and equally important. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and forming relationships.

The 3 areas, the Prime Areas are

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The 4 specific areas of learning, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied are

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

In addition all 3 year groups teach phonics through a document called Letters and Sounds published by by the Department for Education. (Foundation Stage also use Jolly Phonics)

Our Reading Books are all ‘banded’ following the national Book Band scheme.